Essure procedure

While I know no one reads this blog, I hope one day someone searches “Essure” and comes across this. I am writing about the Essure when it is still fresh in my mind.

I had the Essure procedure yesterday, December 12th 2016. I had the consult back in November. He told me it would be easier and faster than getting my tubes tied. He says it only takes 10 minutes.

A couple weeks before, I got the prescription in the mail. This is when I really got scared. Why do I need Percocet and Valium if it’s so easy? I also had to take ibuprofen the day before and insert two pills to soften my cervix.

Day of. I took my Percocet and Valium. I got there and they gave me a shot in the butt to help with spasms. Ok, that was fine. Still no medicine to relax me (the Valium did nothing).

I got on the table with one doctor and 4 nurses. Why are these so many people in the room? They said once I got the numbing shot in my cervix I would feel more relaxed. I didn’t. I really didn’t.

At this point, I should have been knocked out or given the amnesia medicine or something. They started with the left tube. They let my watch it on the screen. As he is trying to cram the thing in the tube, I am in immense pain. It took forever and they could tell I was in the pain. It takes a lot for me to cry and I was crying. After what seemed like a year, they moved on to the second one. I chose not to watch because I was crying.

It was awful. Don’t let them tell you it’s easy. I was also covered in blood when I was done. Like everywhere.

That day was not fun either. I was in a lot of pain, especially on my left side.

If you ever decide to get Essure, ask if you get put to sleep. If not, don’t do it.

Leave a Reply

